Quick Links

Useful Links


01362 697981

Enrich Learning Trust celebrates the proud and individual identities of member schools, providing bespoke support and challenge to strive for the best outcomes for all children, developing and nurturing the whole child, creating a purposeful and happy family of schools.

Go to site


Local Governing Body (LGB) of Dereham Neatherd High School, part of the Enrich Learning Trust.

Dereham Neatherd High School is a member of Enrich Learning Trust. This is a charitable trust and, like all similar academy groups in England, has three levels of governance. At the Trust level, there are Members and Trustees. See this page on the Trust site for all the Trust governance information. Currently Enrich Learning Trust comprises of Dereham Neatherd High School, Kenninghall Primary School, Long Stratton High School, Spooner Row Primary School and Wymondham High Academy. Every school within the Trust then has its own board of local governors: Local Governing Body (LGB.)

The constitution for Neatherd’s LGB provides for:

  1. a) The headteacher or deputy headteacher
  2. b) At least two parent representatives
  3. c) One staff representative
  4. d) A maximum of three co-opted representatives

Current members of the LGB are:

Alex Bucher

LGB: Chair of LGB and Co-Opted governor

Alex has over 20 years’ experience as a Police Officer and, through his role, has developed extensive knowledge of partnership working with other local services. Alex is the nominated Safeguarding, Behaviour & Headteacher  Performance Governor. 

Craig Daniels

LGB: Staff governor

Craig has over 10 years’ experience as a mathematics teacher and is currently the Second in Department. He has a strong knowledge of school dynamics and is passionate about curriculum matters. 

Faye LeBon

LGB: Co-Opted governor

Faye has over 10 years’ experience working in local government and holds a foundation degree in Community Governance. She is also a volunteer sports coach in the school. Faye is the nominated Equality & School Nutrition Action Group (SNAG) Governor. 

Chris Smith

LGB: Headteacher & governor

Chris is Neatherd’s Headteacher. He has significant experience of school leadership and, by trade, is a geography teacher.


Julie Tyler

LGB: Parent governor

Julie has over 20 years’ experience of working with children and young people. She is a qualified Further Education lecturer and both her sons have attended Neatherd. Julie is the nominated Pupil Premium & Looked After Children (LAC) Governor 

Jaime Mallett

Attends LGB Meetings


Jaime is Neatherd’s Deputy Head. He has significant experience of various school leadership roles and is a Modern Foreign Languages teacher. 

A skills audit will be completed on a regular basis and further representatives will be appointed (or, in the case of parent representatives, elected if there is more than one candidate for each position) to ensure that the LGB covers the full set of skills required for effective governance.

Members of the LGB are appointed or elected for a period of four years. They may then be re-appointed or re-elected for one further term of office, giving a maximum of eight years in total.

All representatives are required to disclose any interests they may have which could relate to their role as a member of the LGB. A list of disclosures and interests can be found here.

LGB members are bound by the NGA Code of Conduct and the conventions established in the Nolan Committee’s “Seven Principles of Public Life”.

The Scheme of Delegation, outlining the LGB’s remit and responsibilities, can be found here.

Neatherd’s “School Funding Agreement” with the Department for Education can be found here.

The attendance of LGB Governors for the period 2018 - 2019 can be found here.

The schedule of meeting dates (2018 - 2019) can be found here.

If you would like to contact the governors of the Local Governing Body, please email helen_dasilva@neatherd,org.